Rhode Island Underage DUI Lawyer

In Rhode Island, teenagers are allowed to drive at age sixteen (16).  As a result, parents can often expect the occasional speeding ticket or minor accident.  Since the legal drinking age in Rhode Island is twenty-one (21), parents can also expect incidents related to underage drinking. When the two mix together, your teenager could be facing charges for DUI.

Teenagers and DUIs in Rhode Island

Under Rhode Island General Law § 31-27-2(d)(7)(i), teenagers under the age of eighteen (18) can face serious charges as a result of drinking and driving. Underage DUI carries severe penalties that could impact your child’s future. Below, you can find an outline of the penalties.

First Offense

  • $500 fine
  • License Suspension 3-18 months
  • 10-60 hours community service
  • Mandatory driving school and/or alcohol treatment program

Second Offense and Subsequent Violations

  • Jail up to 1 year at the Rhode Island Training School
  • $500 Fine
  • Mandatory license suspension until age 21

Young Adults and Driving While Impaired in Rhode Island

Rhode Island also has harsh DUI laws for young adults between the ages of eighteen (18) and twenty-one (21).  For these individuals, the legal limit is .02 rather than the adult standard of .08.  Therefore, young adults can be charged with “driving while impaired” if a chemical test determines that their blood alcohol concentration was at least two-hundredths of one percent (.02%) but less than eight one hundredths of one percent (.08%) by weight. This lower legal limit is easy to meet and can trigger serious legal consequences.

First Offense

  • Fine of not more than $250
  • License suspension of 1-3 months if you attend driving school and an alcohol/drug treatment program. If you do not attend these courses, your license will be suspended until you completed them.
  • 30 hours community service

Second Offense

  • Fine of not more than $250
  • $300 highway safety assessment
  • Up to 60 hours of community service
  • License suspension of 3-6 months
  • Attendance at a special course in driving while intoxicated
  • Attendance at an alcohol and/or drug treatment program

Rhode Island Underage DUI Lawyer

Minors charged with DUI face a unique set of consequences. With their reputation, educational career and future employment on the line, you should contact an experienced Rhode Island Underage DUI lawyer. The RI Underage DUI lawyers at Abilheira Law will guide you through the DUI process, explain your legal options and prepare an aggressive defense. Call us today for a free and confidential consultation, 401-245-5100.