Underage and Driving Under the Influence
In Rhode Island, teenagers are allowed to drive at age 16. As a result, parents can often expect the occasional speeding ticket or minor accident. Unfortunately, some teens make the decision to drive after having illegally consumed alcohol. Since the legal drinking age in Rhode Island is 21, any individual under that age will be charged with underage drinking and driving if found to be under the influence. When your teenager is facing Rhode Island underage DUI charges, it is crucial that you retain qualified counsel to defend their future and their reputation.
Our Rhode Island underage DUI lawyers have the experience and knowledge to step in and fight on your child’s behalf. Our Rhode Island Underage DUI Charges attorneys aggressively defend underage drivers charged with DUI. We take the time to explain the potential legal consequences of a conviction, all of your teenager’s legal options and the best possible defenses in your teenager’s case.
Don’t wait another minute to pursue counsel! Contact our firm at (401) 245-5100.
What Are the Drinking Laws in RI?
In Rhode Island, consuming, purchasing, or possessing alcohol when under 21 years of age is considered a petty misdemeanor offense. If caught and convicted, an underage drinking offense can result in serious consequences in your personal, educational, and professional life, and these consequences could follow you through much of your adult life. Although you may have been using alcohol responsibly, it is still a violation of the law and can cause many years of frustration.
You may be facing the following penalties for a first offense:
- Possession of alcohol by a minor: Maximum fine of $750
- Transportation of alcohol by a minor: Maximum fine of $250 and 30-day license suspension
- Underage drinking and fake ID’s: Maximum fine of $500, 30 hours community service, and 30-day license
- Providing alcohol to minors: Maximum fine of $1,000 and up to 6 months in jail
In addition to these repercussions, they could also deal with challenges getting into certain colleges or finding a job.
Our Rhode Island Underage Drinking Lawyers Can Protect You
At one point or another, many teenagers find themselves in situations where alcohol is present. Many teenagers who are exposed to alcohol may not act as “wild” or “rowdy” as news coverage and police portray, but most underage drinking is illegal and can have serious consequences.
If your teenager has been arrested or charged with underage drinking, do not waste any time getting them an experienced Rhode Island underage drinking lawyers At Abilheira Law, LLC, we strive to do everything in our legal power to secure favorable outcomes for our younger clients. Don’t put your child’s future or reputation at risk. Contact Abilheira Law, LLC today.
Tell us about your case today in a free evaluation.
Teenagers & DUIs in Rhode Island
Under Rhode Island General Law § 31-27-2(d)(7)(i), teens under the age of 18 can face serious charges as a result of drinking and driving. Underage DUI carries severe penalties that could impact your child’s future. Below, you can find an outline of the penalties.
- $500 fine
- License suspension for 3 to 18 months
- 10 to 60 hours community service
- Mandatory driving school and / or alcohol treatment program
Second Offense & Subsequent Violations:
- Up to 1 year at the Rhode Island Training School
- $500 fine
- Mandatory license suspension until age 21
Defending Young Adults Facing DUI & DWI
Rhode Island also has harsh DUI laws for young adults between the ages of 18 and 21. For these individuals, the legal limit is .02 rather than the adult standard of .08. Therefore, young adults can be charged with “driving while impaired” if a chemical test determines that their blood alcohol concentration was at least .02% but less than .08% by weight. This lower legal limit is easy to meet and can trigger serious legal consequences.
- Fines reaching up to $250
- License suspension of 1 to 3 months with driving school and treatment program
- 30 hours community service
- Fines of up to $250
- $300 highway safety assessment
- Up to 60 hours of community service
- License suspension of 3 to 6 months
- Attendance at a special course in driving while intoxicated
- Attendance at an alcohol and / or drug treatment program
Protect Your Child’s Future—Call Us
Minors charged with DUI face a unique set of consequences. With their reputation, educational career, and future employment on the line, you should contact an experienced Rhode Island criminal defense lawyer at our firm right away. Abilheira Law, LLC has offices in both Providence and Warren, and serves clients throughout Rhode Island. We can help guide your loved one through the complex DUI process while keeping you informed of their rights and defense options every step of the way.
Reach out to us today at (401) 245-5100 or fill out a free case evaluation.