Rhode Island Speeding Tickets

At Abilheira Law, our attorneys recognize that while a speeding ticket may seem minor to some, for others a speeding offense can have severe consequences including license suspension, heavy fines, increased car insurance rates, and the loss of a job.

The speeding ticket attorneys at Abilheira Law will fight your speeding ticket at the Rhode Island Traffic Tribunal and any Municipal Court in Rhode Island.

RI Speeding Ticket Fines and Penalties

FIRST OFFENSE
For speeds up to and including 10 mph over the speed limit: $95 fine

For speeds 11mph over the speed limit: $10.00 for every mile over the speed limit
(Example: 14 mph over the speed limit results in a $140 fine)

SECOND OFFENSE
For speeds up to 10 mph over the speed limit: $10.00 for every mile over the speed limit if within twelve (12) months of the first offense.

For speeds of 11mph and more over the speed limit: $15.00 for every mile over the speed limit if within (12) months of the first offense

THIRD OFFENSE
For speeds up to 10 mph over the speed limit: $15.00 per every mile over the speed limit if within twelve (12) months of the first offense
** In addition, the license may be suspended up to thirty (30) days.
**Requires a mandatory court hearing.

For speeds of 11mph and more over the speed limit: $20.00 for every mile over the speed limit if within (12) months of the first offense
**In addition, the license may be suspended up to sixty (60) days.
**Requires a mandatory court hearing.

FOURTH OFFENSE WITHIN 18 MONTHS
Under the Colin Foote Act, a driver facing a fourth speeding ticket or other moving violation within 18 months will face:

  • A license suspension or revocation for up to 2 years
  • A fine of up to $1,000
  • 60 hours of community service
  • A 60 hour drivers retraining course

 

Fighting a Speeding Ticket With the RI Good Driving Statute

If you have been driving for at least three years and have not had a moving violation within the past three years, you can ask the judge to dismiss your speeding ticket under the “good driving statute.” However, if your speeding violation is in excess of fourteen miles per hour (14 m.p.h.) above the posted speed limit, your ticket cannot be dismissed pursuant to this statute.

It is important to note that while using the good driving statute will result in a dismissal of your ticket, it is still an admission of guilt and you will be responsible for paying $60 in court costs. However, this will save you a considerable amount of money, because the lowest possible fine for a speeding ticket is $95.

Finally, you should also be aware that the infraction will remain on your driving record for three years, only to ensure that you do not use the good driving statute again before you are eligible.

Other Avenues for Fighting a RI Speeding Ticket

Drivers under 21 years of age (and in some circumstances those over the age of 21) may be able to perform community service in exchange for the dismissal of a speeding ticket.

Another possible avenue for getting a ticket dismissed is to make a voluntary contribution to a victim’s indemnity fund. This may also be required in addition to community service.

The judge and/or the police may also require a “Driver Retraining Course.” This avenue is usually reserved for those drivers with several traffic convictions on their driving record.

Your attorney can also ask the police department to “amend” the speed charged on your traffic ticket to a lower speed, which can help reduce the fine associated with a higher rate of speed.