Skilled Rhode Island Theft Crime Lawyer
If you have been charged with a theft crime in Rhode Island, you could be facing serious, life-altering penalties. Our Rhode Island criminal defense attorneys can fight for your rights and restore your reputation. At Abilheira Law, LLC our attorneys are dedicated to providing respectful, straightforward and trustworthy representation to our clients. Our defense attorneys have experience aggressively defending criminal charges, so you can rest assured you are in good hands.
Contact our criminal defense lawyer for a consultation today.
How Rhode Island Defines Theft
Under Rhode Island law, theft is defined as the wrongful taking of anything of value with the intent to deprive the owner of the item indefinitely. “Theft” is considered an umbrella term for any stealing of property. In Rhode Island, there are sub-categories of theft that have their own punishments based on the circumstances surrounding the theft. Those include:
- Larceny: occurs when an individual takes property without force.
- Shoplifting: the taking of any merchandise from a retail store or the changing or removal of tags with the intent to deprive the store owner from the value of the merchandise.
- Robbery: occurs when property is taken from an individual by force.
- Embezzlement: occurs when a person takes money or property from a business or organization that was entrusted into their care.
- Obtaining Money Under False Pretenses: when a person attempts to deceive others into giving them money.
Misdemeanor or Felony?
Whether or not the theft will be charged as a misdemeanor or felony will typically depend on the circumstances surrounding the theft and the value of the property of money stolen.
Misdemeanor Theft – Rhode Island considers a theft of no more than $500 without force to be a misdemeanor punishable by up to no more than one year in jail and/or a fine of up to $500.
Felony Theft — if the property taken has a value higher than $500 or is a firearm of any value, the state considers the theft a felony theft. Felony theft is punishable by up to ten years imprisonment or a fine of no more than $5,000.
An important fact to note is that Rhode Island places harsher penalties if the victim of the theft is over the age of 65. Felony larceny from a senior citizen will result in 2-15 years in prison while misdemeanor larceny from a senior citizen could result in 1-5 years in prison.
Speak to a Rhode Island Criminal Defense Attorney Today
The law can be incredibly confusing and intimidating, especially after the stress of an arrest. If you or someone you know has been charged with theft, you should contact our experienced Rhode Island criminal defense lawyers as soon as possible. By hiring a criminal defense law firm early on in your case, you and the drug charge defense attorney can work together from the beginning to ensure you are able to build the best defense possible for your situation.
We fight for your rights. Call to speak to an attorney today about a theft crime or other criminal defense matter. Call (401) 245-5100 today.