Traffic Ticket Defense Lawyers in Providence, Warren and all of RI
At Abilheira Law, LLC, our Rhode Island traffic offense attorneys recognize that while a speeding ticket may seem minor to some, for others it can have severe consequences including license suspension, heavy fines, increased car insurance rates, and the loss of a job.
With offices in both Providence and Warren, we are proud to represent clients throughout Rhode Island. We have incisive legal skill and are committed to providing quality counsel for those facing speeding tickets and other traffic offenses.
Don’t just accept your ticket! Call our firm at (401) 245-5100 to start your fight.
Speeding Ticket Fines & Penalties
- Speeds up to and including 10 mph over the speed limit will bring a $95 fine, while speeds 11mph over the speed limit will include an additional $10 for every mile over.
- Speeds up to 10 mph over the speed limit bring $10 for every mile over within 12 months of the first offense. Speeds of 11+ mph over bring $15 for every mile over.
- Speeds up to 10 mph over include $15 fines for every mile over, as well as a 30-day license suspension and mandatory court hearing. 11+ mph bring $20 fines for every mile and up to a 60-day suspension and court hearing (within 12 months of the first offense).
- Under the Colin B. Foote Act, a driver up against a fourth speeding ticket or other moving violation within 18 months can have their license revoked / suspended for up to 2 years, pay up to $1,000 in fines, be required to perform 60 hours of community service, and attend a 60-hour driver retraining course.
Fighting a Ticket with the Good Driving Statute
If you have been driving for at least three years and have not had a moving violation within the past three years, you can ask the judge to dismiss your speeding ticket under the “good driving statute.” However, if your speeding violation is in excess of 14 mph above the posted speed limit, your ticket cannot be dismissed pursuant to this statute.
It is important to note that while using the good driving statute can result in a dismissal of your ticket, you will still be responsible for paying $64.25 in court costs. However, this will save you a considerable amount of money, as the lowest possible fine for a speeding ticket is $95. You should also be aware that the infraction will remain on your driving record for three years, only to ensure that you do not use the good driving statute again before you are eligible.
Other Avenues for Fighting a Speeding Ticket
Drivers under 21 years of age may be able to perform community service in exchange for the dismissal of a speeding ticket. Another possible avenue for getting a ticket dismissed is to make a voluntary contribution to a victim’s indemnity fund or other charity. This may also be required in addition to community service. However, many police departments no longer accept this as an option.
The judge and / or the police may also require a “Driver Retraining Course.” This avenue is usually reserved for those drivers with several traffic convictions on their driving record. This course is taught at the Community College of Rhode Island (CCRI).
Your speeding ticket attorney can also ask the police department to “amend” the speed charged on your traffic ticket to a lower speed, which can help reduce the fine associated with a higher rate of speed.