Rhode Island Domestic Violence

Have you been accused of domestic violence by your spouse, partner, child, or other family member? Did the police arrest the wrong person?

In an effort to reduce the rate of domestic violence crimes in Rhode Island, the State enacted newer, tougher laws with increased penalties and strict enforcement. In Rhode Island, police have the power to arrest individuals suspected of domestic violence without a warrant. As a result of this increased power, police often arrest the individual they believe to be the initial aggressor, even if that individual is not to blame.

The consequences of an arrest for domestic violence could result in you being forced to leave your home, face potential jail time, enroll in batterers’ intervention programs, and be subject to a protective order.

You could be subject to these strict domestic violence laws if you and the alleged victim are family or household members which include:

  • Husband, wife, spouses, or former spouses
  • Adult persons related by blood or marriage
  • Adult persons who are presently living together (roommates) or have lived together within the past 3 years
  • People who have a child in common
  • People who are or have been engaged, or in a significant dating relationship within the past year as determined by the court, based on length and type of relationship, time/duration of relationship, and frequency of interaction between the two individuals

You could be charged with a domestic violence crime if the victim is one of those listed above and the underlying crime is:

    • Assault and Battery
    • Sexual Assault
    • False imprisonment
    • Harassment
    • Stalking
    • Disorderly Conduct
    • Trespass
    • Vandalism
    • Violations of a Protective Order / Restraining
    • Order / No Contact Order

    Those found guilty of a domestic violence crime in Rhode Island face these automatic penalties in addition to the penalties for the underlying crime:

    • For a first offense: attend a batterer’s intervention program and pay additional assessment fees
    • For a second offense: minimum of 10 days in jail and a maximum of up to a year.
    • For a third offense: minimum of 1-10 years in prison

    The Rhode Island Domestic Violence Lawyers at Abilheira Law are on your side and will defend your rights to help you avoid the increased punishments associated with domestic violence crimes. In a system where an accusation is often enough to derail your life, you need a skilled and experienced lawyer fighting for you. Call the Domestic Violence lawyers at Abilheira Law today, 401-245-5100.