Rhode Island Assault and Battery Attorney

A casual glance at the morning paper almost always reveals a laundry list of individuals charged with various crimes. One of the most common charges is for Assault and Battery. Whether you get into an argument on the sidelines of your child’s soccer game or are involved in a bar fight, being charged with Assault and Battery can have serious repercussions in your personal and professional life.

​In Rhode Island there are several offenses that can constitute assault and battery. The most common form of the crime is simple assault and battery. At its most basic level, a battery is the use of force against another resulting in a harmful or offensive contact, while an assault is the threat or use of force against another that places that individual in reasonable fear of an immediate harmful or offensive contact. Simple assault and battery in Rhode Island is a misdemeanor crime and could result in a fine of $1000, imprisonment for one year, or both.

Rhode Island has even more severe penalties for individuals who use a dangerous weapon to commit an assault and/or battery or cause serious bodily injury as a result of an assault and battery. This conduct will lead to felony assault charges, which can carry a penalty of up to 20 years in prison.

The punishment for assault and battery will also be increased if it is charged as a “domestic” crime. See below for more information on domestic violence crimes.

​It is imperative that you contact a qualified criminal defense attorney to evaluate your case and explain some of the defenses that exist against charges of assault and battery. The attorneys at Abilheira Law have the skills and expertise to handle your assault and battery case. When your freedom is on the line, you need to have an experienced and tenacious attorney on your side. Call the Assault and Battery Lawyers at Abilheira Law today for your complimentary consultation, 401-245-5100.