Rhode Island legislators have proposed two new bills that would attempt to regulate ride-hailing companies like Uber and Lyft. If the legislation passes, it would require such companies to obtain a $10,000 to $15,000 “transportation network company permit” each year before operating within the State.
The bills also attempt to regulate Uber and Lyft drivers. All drivers would face mandatory criminal background checks. Drivers with felony convictions, sex offense convictions, DUI convictions, and reckless driving convictions would be barred from driving within the State of Rhode Island. Finally, any driver with at least four moving violations in the past three years would be barred from employment.
What should Uber and Lyft drivers do now?
If you currently drive for Uber and/or Lyft in Rhode Island, you should take the following steps before the legislation even passes:
- Run a criminal background check on yourself and immediately attempt to expunge any criminal convictions from your record
- Fight any traffic tickets you may receive with a Rhode Island traffic ticket lawyer
- Immediately contact a Rhode Island criminal defense lawyer if you find yourself charged with a crime