One of the most common charges in District Court in Rhode Island today is Driving on a Suspended License. Currently, those charged with Driving on a Suspended License face criminal convictions, jail time and hefty fines, even for a first offense.
A new law expected to take effect this year, drastically changes the punishments associated with this offense:
- A first offense for Driving on a Suspended License will result in a civil violation, adjudicated at the Rhode Island Traffic Tribunal. Those found guilty of a first violation will face a civil fine of $250 to $500.
- A second offense, will also result in a civil offense, adjudicated at the Rhode Island Traffic Tribunal. Those found guilty of a second violation will face a civil fine of $350 to $500.
- A third or subsequent violation of this law will be a misdemeanor, adjudicated in District Court. Those found guilty will face jail for up to ninety (90) days, a license suspension for up to ninety (90) days, and/or a fine of $500 to $1,000.
If you have been charged with Driving on a Suspended License, call the Rhode Island Traffic Ticket lawyers and Rhode Island Criminal Defense lawyers at Abilheira Law today. Our skilled attorneys will fight for your rights!