Experienced DUI Lawyers Serving Warren, Providence and all of Rhode Island

Have you been arrested for a DUI in Rhode Island? You could be facing serious criminal penalties, as well as significant consequences in your personal and professional life. Our experienced Rhode Island DUI penalties lawyers can guide you through the DUI process explaining your legal options and preparing an aggressive defense.

Depending on the amount of alcohol found in your blood, your prior criminal history and other factors, a DUI in Rhode Island is punishable by jail time. A DUI charge and conviction can result in:

  • License suspensions
  • Ignition interlock device installation
  • Heavy fines
  • Increased car insurance rates
  • Criminal record

When your future is at stake, it is important to contact an experienced attorney. Our Rhode Island DUI attorneys can evaluate your individual case and provide you with clear explanations of all your legal options. Our defense attorneys are dedicated to providing personalized, aggressive and effective legal solutions for our clients.
We are prepared to fight for you!

Learn more about how we can defend you against DUI penalties. Contact us today!

First Offense DUI Penalties

BAC .08-.10
  • Up to one year in jail
  • License suspension, 1-6 months
  • 10-60 hours community service
  • $100-300 fine
  • Mandatory costs & assessments
  • Possible treatment program
  • Possible ignition interlock
BAC .10-.15 and BAC Unknown
  • Up to one year in jail
  • License suspension, 3-12 months
  • 10-60 hours community service
  • $100-400 fine
  • Mandatory costs & assessments
  • Mandatory treatment program
  • Possible ignition interlock
BAC .15 or greater
  • Up to one year in jail
  • License Suspension 3-18 months
  • 20-60 hours of community service
  • $500 fine
  • Mandatory costs & assessments
  • Mandatory treatment program
  • Mandatory ignition interlock

Second Offense DUI Penalties

BAC .08-.15 or BAC Unknown
  • Mandatory imprisonment: 10 days to 1 year
  • License Suspension 1-2 years
  • $400 fine
  • Mandatory costs and assessments
  • Mandatory drug and/or alcohol treatment
  • Mandatory ignition interlock device
BAC .15 or greater
  • Mandatory imprisonment: 6 months to 1 year
  • License suspension of 2 years
  • $1000 fine
  • Mandatory costs and assessments
  • Mandatory drug and/or alcohol treatment
  • Mandatory ignition interlock device

Third Offense DUI Penalties

BAC .08-.15 and BAC Unknown
  • Felony if within 5 years of the second offense
  • Mandatory imprisonment for 1 to 3 years
  • License Suspension 2 -3 years
  • $400 fine
  • Mandatory costs and assessments
  • Mandatory drug and/or alcohol treatment required
  • Mandatory ignition interlock device
BAC .15 or greater
  • Felony if within 5 years of the second offense
  • Mandatory 3-5 year imprisonment
  • License Suspension of 3 years
  • $1000-5000 fine
  • Mandatory costs and assessments
  • Mandatory drug and/or alcohol treatment required
  • Mandatory ignition interlock device

Begin Building Your Defense

If you are facing a DUI charge in Rhode Island, call the skilled Rhode Island DUI lawyers at Abilheira Law for a free and confidential consultation. Our experienced attorneys will guide you through will guide you through you case step by step while preparing an effective and aggressive defense. You can feel confident knowing our talented team of attorneys will be fighting relentlessly to protect your license, reputation and career. Our DUI defense lawyers are dedicated to delivering results and fighting for you.

Schedule your free case evaluation today so that we can begin discussing your legal options.