You need a Rhode Island Domestic Disorderly Conduct Lawyer
Serving Providence, Warren and all of Rhode Island
If you have been charged with domestic disorderly conduct in Rhode Island, you need to take these charges seriously. Domestic disorderly conduct is considered a criminal offense in Rhode Island and in order to protect your reputation and your rights, you should contact our Rhode Island Domestic Disorderly Conduct lawyer immediately. With a track record of success in handling criminal cases like these, you can rest easy knowing you are in good hands with a Rhode Island domestic disorderly conduct defense attorney.
What Sets Us Apart…
- Consistent Success
- Request Your Consultations
- Custom-tailored legal solutions
- Straightforward and honest legal advocacy
Domestic Disorderly Conduct vs. Disorderly Conduct
Disorderly conduct can be defined as a person who intentionally, knowingly or recklessly does any of the following:
- Fights– depending on the nature of your circumstances, if you were fighting you could be charged with more serious charges of assault and battery.
- Makes too much noise- while in public or near a private residence disturbs another by making an unreasonable amount of noise.
- Uses threats or insults – projects offensive words to illicit a violent reaction from another.
- Obstructs public areas—like a highway, public sidewalk, street, railway, building entrance.
- Disturbs an assembly – obstructs a lawful meeting or gathering.
- Invades personal privacy – attempts to peer into the window of an occupied dwelling for lewd purposes.
Under Rhode Island law, if any of the above acts are committed in front of a family member or household member, then law enforcement can charge you with a domestic disorderly conduct.
Penalties in Rhode Island
Often, people who are charged with domestic disorderly conduct do not realize the severity of their charge. In Rhode Island, domestic disorderly conduct is punishable by up to six months in jail and/or a fine of up to $500. As with all domestic violence crimes in Rhode Island, those convicted will also face a mandatory batterer’s intervention course and will be required to pay an assessment of $125.
Additionally, domestic disorderly conduct penalties increase with each subsequent offense.
- Those found guilty of a second domestic disorderly conduct charge or any other domestic crime will be imprisoned at least ten (10) days and not more than one year
- Those found guilty of a third or subsequent domestic disorderly conduct charge or any other domestic crime will be imprisoned for at least one year and not more than ten (10) years and be guilty of a felony.
Finally, a domestic disorderly conduct charge can also be a trigger for a no-contact order. When a no-contact order is issued, it means you cannot have any contact with the victim while the case is pending. A no-contact order expires after the case is over (dismissal or not guilty finding) or at the end of probation, filing or suspended sentence.
Our Rhode Island Domestic Disorderly Conduct Attorney Can Help You
If you were recently charged with domestic disorderly conduct, you should contact our Rhode Island Domestic Disorderly Conduct lawyers today for legal guidance on what to do next. Do not take these charges lightly. Your rights and reputation may be on the line.
Call us today to schedule your appointment.